Carolyn’s Happy Ending

Its 4:00PM and I am frantically trying to get to my son’s pickup.  My body drips with exhaustion, but my heart sings with fulfillment having spent the week loving all the kids in my life.  In the mad rush of a Friday filled with a fun run, class news, and popsicles I have ignored the constant beeping of my cell, but finally I realized several friends have texted and it is urgent.  Erin’s voice breaks over the words she uses to tell me Carolyn is gone.

And the world slips out of focus, tilting and spinning with the impossible news.  I will spend the evening curled on the swing in my backyard as the memories wash over me and the waves of sorrow come.

It’s four years earlier and Carolyn is sitting on my couch.  I have invited several friends from my book club to a bible study at my home.  For our study, we have chosen a series called Heaven.  Together we listen to a video as the author tells us that much of the Bible is devoted to giving us a picture of the other side.

There are tears as Carolyn shares the sorrow of losing her mother at a young age.  And yet, as we eat, talk, pray, and cry some of the fear slips away.   We move our thoughts from the business of packing lunches and hauling kids to practice and instead spend time imagining that, “other shore”. And over a few weeks I can feel the shift as she moves from anger towards peace.

One short year later, it’s Eden’s birthday and she and Ella make bracelets.  Carolyn pulls me to the side and we hug and secretly wipe away tears as she shares that she will be battling breast cancer.   I call the troupes and the crock pots arrive with a regular rhythm.

It’s late summer and now it is Carolyn who stands at Scott’s bed side. She squeezes my hand and speaks of the miracle that has pulled her husband back from the brink.  Her own sickness forgotten, she looks at me with a face filled with faith and strength.  She has refused to let him go.

Its early fall, and this time we sit at Panera and sip coffee. The cancer is back and there is more than before.  I share a Bible across the table offering the only real hope I have.  Since we don’t know the journey ahead, we arrange a meeting spot on the other side.  She is going to meet me at the Tree of Life.

The winter cold whips at my face, I am at Macy’s buying shoes for Zeke.  Scott has asked me to reach out, because this last season has brought so much pain.  I find a quiet corner in the shoe department and make the call.  Once again together, we pray and cry and ask God for comfort and for relief.  I remind her of the Tree.

And now in my backyard on the day of her death, memories spill into  vision.  It is late evening, and the sunlight has gone golden.  The leaves rustle with a warm breeze as crickets chirp sweet songs.   My body hunched with age, hands knarred by time and care, I hesitantly move forward.  There ahead I see a lovely lithe girl.  Her hair falls dark and thick around sky blue eyes.  Her pink translucence skin shines with youth and health.   A smile splits her face and it is the familiar dimple that brings recognition.

“Amber, I have been waiting.  How are you? Its’ even more wonderful here than we imagined.   I have so many things to show you.  But first, He’s waiting.  Are you ready to meet Him?  Come with me, I will take you to Him. “

She helps me shed skin like an old worn dress and take on the beauty of everlasting soul.  And together we hold hands and walk into our own eternal happy ending.

Leave a Reply

Skip to toolbar